CAETS Awards
42 awards have been found.
  • Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize

    The Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize, established in October 1999, is named after Fritz Russ, an esteemed engineer and founder of Systems Research Laboratories, and his wife Dolores Russ, a long-time supporter and benefactor of the engineering industry. The NAE established the prize at the request of Ohio University to honor the Russes for their dedication to education and the field of engineering. Fritz Russ graduated from Ohio University in 1942 with a B.S. in electrical engineering. The Russ Prize recognizes an outstanding bioengineering achievement in widespread use that improves the human condition. This achievement should help the public better understand and appreciate the contributions of engineers to our health, well-being and quality of life. An auxiliary purpose of the Russ Prize is to encourage collaboration between the engineering and medical/biological professions to work closely together. Awarded biennially (odd number years), the recipient receives a $500,000 cash award and a commemorative medallion. NAE members and non-members worldwide are eligible to receive the Russ Prize.

  • Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering

    It is a goal of the National Academy of Engineering to honor those who have contributed to the advancement of engineering and to improve public understanding of the importance of engineering and technology. Recognized as one of the world's preeminent awards for engineering achievement, the Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering honors an engineer whose accomplishment has significantly impacted society by improving the quality of life, providing the ability to live freely and comfortably, and/or permitting the access to information. The Draper Prize is awarded biennially, the recipient receives a $500,000 cash award, and the prize recognizes achievements in all engineering disciplines. NAE members and non-members worldwide are eligible to receive the Draper Prize.

  • The NAEK Award
    The NAEK Award was instituted to honor and support engineers who have made conspicuous contributions to the development of engineering and technology at Korean universities, companies and government supported institutions. The aim is to promote ground-breaking engineering and technology in Korea. The Award pays tribute to those who have achieved original, world-leading research and development records. Their achievements inspire others in academia and industry to strive for excellence, instilling pride in all Korean engineers. Each year the NAEK Award is conferred on one person, while two others receive the Special Award as a NAEK Young Engineer. The Award laureates get a certificate from the NAEK President and an honorarium of KRW100 million for the Main Award and KRW 50 million for each of the Young Engineer Awards. NAEK accepts Award candidate nominations every July from the press, academia, R&D centers, companies and reputed institutions. A committee of specialists performs the preliminary screening of candidates, while the General Evaluation Committee makes the final selection. The Awards are formally presented at a ceremony in early March, on the same day of the Spring NAEK General Meeting. The NAEK Award was inaugurated in 1996 and is now recognized as one of Korea’s most prestigious honors related to engineering and technology.
  • The Haedong Award
    Haedong Science Cultural Foundation Chairman KIM Chung Shik has been a sponsor of NAEK publications. At the same time, the Haedong Award has been sponsored by the Haedong Science Cultural Foundation with KRW 50 million prize to promote engineering and education innovation since 2005. The award honors writers, publicists, contents developers and others are those who have contributed to promoting engineering and education. Nominations are accepted every July, and the Committee of Award Nomination convenes to screen the nominees for the Iljin and Haedong Awards. Any senior or emeritus member of NAEK has the right to nominate eligible candidates. Then, the General Evaluation Committee makes the final selection. The Awards are formally presented in a ceremony in late January.
  • Clunies Ross Entrepreneur of the Year Award
    For those who have played a leadership role in the translation to a commercial enterprise with a financially successful outcome of a technology based product or service in which they have personally had a significant input in the inventorship/development of the technology. Such a person would typically be the CEO or a senior manager and may be working in either an early stage or mature company environment, with demonstrated impact for Australia.
  • Clunies Ross Knowledge Commercialisation Award
    For those who have been responsible for a technology which has been commercialised most likely by licensing with a financially successful outcome.
  • Clunies Ross Innovation Award
    For those who have been responsible for the adoption of a technology of demonstrably significant potential, currently at a stage where the financial outcomes are yet to be realised and/or the benefits are of a measurable broad community nature.
  • The Léopold Nadeau Memorial Award for Distinguished Service
    Established in 2008 to commemorate the exceptional contributions of the late Dr. Léopold M. Nadeau, FCAE to the conception and founding of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and his 10 years of exemplary service as its first Executive Director. This award is presented to acknowledge and celebrate truly extraordinary efforts made by a Fellow to further the objective of the Academy.
  • Prize of the Hungarian Academy of Engineering
    The HAE made a very important decision in 1998: in order to acknowledge the activity of the Hungarian engineers and as a mark of our esteem for the creative engineering work the HAE - at the initiative of Professor Ernő Rubik and the Foundation of the HAE - established the "Prize of the Hungarian Academy of Engineering". This Prize can bestowed to one person per year.